Parker Waichman Alonso, LLP - www.statutes-of-limitations.com

Home Contact Site Map Bookmark Site Disclaimer

Negligence / Personal Injury

ALABAMA
2 Years with occurrence rule
ALASKA
2 Years If infant, 2 years from 8th birthday.
ARIZONA
2 Years with Discovery Rule.
ARKANSAS
3 Years with Discovery Rule.
CALIFORNIA
2 Years

with Discovery Rule (Note: California amended the SOL in 2003 to 2 years [from 1 year] with respect to negligent torts. Injuries occurring before the effective date of the new law may not benefit from the change, however.) 

 

COLORADO
2 Years with Discovery Rule (except auto accidents is 3 years).
CONNECTICUT
2 Years

from date of act or discovery but no more than 3 years from date of act

DELAWARE
2 Years from date of injury. Discovery Rule applies.
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
10 Years with Discovery Rule.
FLORIDA
4 Years with Discovery Rule.
GEORGIA
2 Years with Discovery Rule.
HAWAII
2 Years with Discovery Rule.
IDAHO
3 Years from date of occurrence.
ILLINOIS
2 Years with Modified Discovery Rule (knew or should have known injury was wrongfully caused even if plaintiff did not know it was actionable).
INDIANA
2 Years with Discovery Rule.
IOWA
2 Years with Discovery Rule.
KANSAS
2 Years from “substantial injury”. SOR: 10 years with Discovery Rule (includes infants).
KENTUCKY
1 Year with Discovery Rule.
LOUISIANA
1 Year
MAINE
6 Years with Discovery Rule.
MARYLAND
3 Years with Discovery Rule.
MASSACHUSETTS
3 Years with Discovery Rule.
MICHIGAN
3 Years with Discovery Rule.
MINNESOTA
6 Years

with Discovery Rule (includes cases of domestic and sexual abuse). However, if injury caused by unsafe condition of real estate, the SOL is two years.

MISSISSIPPI
3 Years

from occurrence with Discovery Rule

MISSOURI
5 Years with Discovery Rule.
MONTANA
3 Years

with Occurrence Rule

NEBRASKA
4 Years with Discovery Rule.
NEVADA
2 Years with Discovery Rule.
NEW HAMPSHIRE
3 Years with Discovery Rule. 
NEW JERSEY
2 Years with Discovery Rule.
NEW MEXICO
3 Years with Discovery Rule.
NEW YORK
3 Years

with Discovery Rule for exposure to toxic substances

NORTH CAROLINA
3 Years

from act or discovery, whichever comes first. [SOR, however, sets maximum period for suit to be commenced at 10 years from the occurrence.]  

NORTH DAKOTA
2 Years with Discovery Rule.
OHIO
2 Years with Discovery Rule.
OKLAHOMA
2 Years with Discovery Rule.
OREGON
2 Years with Discovery Rule.
PENNSYLVANIA
2 Years with Discovery Rule.
PUERTO RICO
1 Year
RHODE ISLAND
3 Years with Discovery Rule.
SOUTH CAROLINA
3 Years with Discovery Rule.
SOUTH DAKOTA
3 Years with Discovery Rule.
TENNESSEE
1 Year with Discovery Rule.
TEXAS
2 Years with Discovery Rule.
U.S. VIRGIN ISLANDS
2 Years
UTAH
2 Years with Discovery Rule.
VERMONT
3 Years with Discovery Rule.
VIRGINIA
2 Years with Discovery Rule.
WASHINGTON
3 Years with Discovery Rule.
WEST VIRGINIA
2 Years with Discovery Rule.
WISCONSIN
3 Years with Discovery Rule.
WYOMING
4 Years with Discovery Rule.

MANHATTAN OFFICE

111 John Street, 14th Floor
New York, NY 10038
Phone: 212.267.6700

LONG ISLAND OFFICE

6 Harbor Park Drive
Port Washington, NY 11050
Phone: 516.466.6500

NEW JERSEY OFFICE

375 Cedar Lane
Teaneck, NJ 07666
Phone: 973.297.1020

FLORIDA OFFICE

3301 Bonita Beach Road
Bonita Springs, Florida 34134
Phone: 239.390.1000